Daddy-Long-Legs (Book Review)

Daddy-Long-Legs (Daddy-Long-Legs, #1)Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

“When Jerusha Abbott, an eighteen-year-old girl living in an
orphan asylum, was told that a mysterious millionaire had
agreed to pay for her education, it was like a dream come
true. For the first time in her life, she had someone she
could pretend was “family.”
But everything was not perfect, for he chose to remain
anonymous and asked that she only write him concerning
her progress in school.
Who was this mysterious gentleman and would Jerusha ever
meet him?”

(Synopsis from goodreads)

You guys, I am high on butterflies and waves of feelings, rolled into one giant mess and I’m holding Jean Webster soley accountable!
This book, ‘Daddy-long-legs,’ was a great read. I very much enjoyed the comical, yet excitingly descriptive words Jerusha/judy wrote letters to her kind, yet enigmatic benefactor. In a nutshell, this book was an absolutely light, fluffy and beautifully writen story.

I am undertaking the Goodread book challenge
and the decision to read not less than 5 classic books this year turned out to be one of the best resolution I made! I couldnt be more satisfied.
Growing up, it used to be that Alice in wonderland was my favourite classic book but, of course came the Harry Potter series. Hogwarts, Harry and magic, casually charmed their way into my heart. As did Jane Austen’s pride and Prejudice and Harper lee’s To kill a mocking bird.

(You know, come to think of it. I typically file all the good books i’ve read in a box labeled “favourite,” In my head. It happens like every-flipping-time!)

I really like that there are all these tons of books published everyday and yet we always spring back to the literary classics. Ageless and timeless, patiently waiting to be re-read. It makes me want to devote more time solely for reading and reading and reading all the books.

**Book description**

Main character: Female

Pov: Jerusha/Judy Abbott.

Tone: Light, humorous, thoughtful.

Categories: YA classic, coming of age, college, letter, orphan.

Time/era of story: 1900-1920’s

I am a sucker for book quotes and here are some swoon worthy lines from “Daddy-long-legs” :

“I think that the most necessary quality for any person to have is imagination. It makes people able to put themselves in other people’s places. It makes them kind
and sympathetic and understanding.”

“When you get accustomed to people or places or ways of living, and then
have them snatched away, it does leave an awfully empty, gnawing sort of sensation.”

“To bring a man into line, there are just two methods: one must either coax or be disagreeable. I scorn to coax men for what I wish. Therefore, I must be disagreeable.”

“It isn’t the great big pleasures that count the most; it’s making a great deal out of the little ones–I’ve discovered the true secret of happiness.”

“I believe absolutely in my own free will and my own power to accomplish– and that is the belief that moves mountains.”

“I think you’re the sweetest man that ever lived–and the foolishest!”

“It is funny how certain places get
connected with certain people, and you never go back without thinking of them.”

I saved the best for last!

“PS. This is the first love-letter I ever wrote. Isn’t it funny that I know how?”

Share your thoughts! x

2 thoughts on “Daddy-Long-Legs (Book Review)

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

